Posts Tagged ‘Houston’


Kidnapping | Harris County Criminal Lawyers

Tuesday, November 21st, 2017

Houston Kidnapping Defense

Kidnapping is a serious felony offense and occurs when a person intentionally or knowingly abducts another person—usually a child. Kidnapping of children most commonly occurs when a couple is separating or divorcing. The people involved are often parents, relatives, or guardians of the victim and the circumstances are both legally complicated and emotionally charged.

It is important to hire an experienced Houston criminal defense lawyer because criminal charges for kidnapping or a related offense do not have to result in a conviction and the resulting lifelong consequences. You may have been acting fully within your rights and could be eligible for a reduction or dismissal of your charges under the Texas Penal Code. In order to convict you, the state prosecutor must prove to a jury that you committed every element of the felony offense beyond a reasonable doubt. With an experienced trial lawyer defending you, this is a difficult burden to meet, and any reasonable doubt in the mind of any of the members of the jury can result in a not guilty verdict or a hung jury.  Therefore, it is vital to contact an experienced criminal attorney in Houston who will fight for you.

Harris County Kidnapping Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with kidnapping in Harris County, Fort Bend County, Montgomery County, or any of the surrounding counties, contact James G. Sullivan and Associates for a free phone consultation at 281-546-6428. Attorney James (Jim) Sullivan is an experienced trial lawyer who will fight for your rights, freedom and future.

Restrain vs. Abduct under Texas Law

In Texas criminal law, these two terms are very important. The difference in meaning between these terms as applied to the facts of your case could affect the seriousness of the charges against you, how your case is handled and whether or not your case has the potential to be dismissed by the grand jury or prosecutor.

According to section 20.01(1) of the Texas Penal Code, “Restrain” means to restrict a person’s movements without consent by moving the person from one place to another or by confining the person. Restraint is “without consent” if it is accomplished by:

  1. force, intimidation, or deception, or
  2. any means, including acquiescence of the victim, if:
    1. the victim is under 14 years of age and the parent or guardian have not acquiesced; or
    2. the victim is between 14 to 17 years of age and is taken outside of the state and outside of a 120-mile radius from the victim’s residence and the parent or guardian have not acquiesced in the movement.

According to section 20.01(2) of the Texas Penal Code, “Abduct” means to restrain a person without consent with intent to prevent his rescue by holding the individual in a place where he is not likely to be found or by threatening violence.

Kidnapping related charges

The purpose of defining restraint and abduction in the code is to provide guidance on how the three different kidnapping related offenses should be charged. These three related offenses are unlawful restraint, kidnapping and aggravated kidnapping.

Unlawful Restraint

According to section 20.04 of the Texas Penal Code, a person can be charged with unlawful restraint if he restrains another person. It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under this section that the person restrained was younger than 14 years of age; the actor was a relative of the child; and the actor’s sole intent was to assume lawful control of the child.

Unlawful Restraint is a Class A Misdemeanor, except the offense is a:

  1. State Jail Felony if the person restrained is under 17 years of age; or
  2. Third Degree Felony if the actor recklessly endangers the victim; or the actor restrains a public servant.

Kidnapping

According to section 20.03 of the Texas Penal Code, a person can be charged with kidnapping if he abducts another person. It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under this section that the abduction did not involve threats of violence; the actor was a relative of the person abducted; and the actor’s sole intent was to assume lawful control of the victim.

Kidnapping is a Third Degree Felony.

Aggravated Kidnapping

According to section 20.04 of the Texas Penal Code, a person can be charged with kidnapping if he abducts another person with the intent to:

  1. hold him for ransom;
  2. use him as a shield or hostage;
  3. facilitate the commission of a felony or the flight after the attempt or commission of a felony;
  4. inflict bodily injury on him or violate or abuse him sexually;
  5. terrorize him or a third person;
  6. interfere with the performance of any governmental or political function.

A person commits an offense if the person abducts another person and uses or exhibits a deadly weapon during the commission of the offense.

Kidnapping is a First Degree Felony, except a Second Degree Felony is possible if the defendant voluntarily releases the victim in a safe place.

The penalties for these offenses are severe and can significantly impact your future, such as by losing many educational, employment and housing opportunities. A conviction for kidnapping will also prevent you from ever owning or possessing a firearm. An experienced Harris County kidnapping defense lawyer will be able to review your case and fight to get your charges dismissed or reduced.

Punishment for Kidnapping related offenses in Texas

Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code lists the punishment for kidnapping related offenses in Texas.

A Class A Misdemeanor is punishable by up to a $4,000 fine; confinement in jail for up to 1 year; or both.

A State Jail Felony is punishable by between 180 days to 2 years in a state jail; and by up to a $10,000 fine.

A Third Degree Felony is punishable by between 2 to 10 years in prison; and up to a $10,000 fine.

A Second Degree Felony is punishable by between 2 to 20 years in prison; and up to a $10,000 fine.

A First Degree Felony is punishable by between 5 to 99 years or life in prison; and up to a $10,000 fine.

Depending on the facts of the case, there may be mitigating circumstances that reduce the severity of the charges. These circumstances include the age difference between the victim and the defendant, the relationship between the victim and the defendant, whether violence was used against the victim and other ulterior motives of the defendant. It is important to contact an experienced Houston kidnapping lawyer to learn if any of these mitigating circumstances might apply in order to get your case reduced or dismissed.

James G. Sullivan & Associates | Houston Kidnapping Defense Attorneys

James Sullivan graduated from Gerry Spence’s Trial Lawyers College, the most selective and prestigious trial advocacy program in America. Sullivan has a proven record of defending people from all walks of life, faiths and countries in courts throughout southeast Texas.

Contact James Sullivan & Associates for a free phone consultation at 281-546-6428 about your kidnapping charges in Harris County (Houston), Montgomery County (Conroe), Fort Bend County (Richmond) or Brazoria County (Angleton).

Unlawful Restraint | Harris County Criminal Lawyers

Tuesday, November 21st, 2017

Unlawful Restraint

Houston Violent Crime Attorneys

In the United States, people have the freedom to live and move about freely. Thus it is illegal to interfere with a person’s liberty against his or her will by restricting the person’s movements, by moving the person from one place to another or by confining the person. Because illegal restraint or confinement can leave long lasting psychological trauma on victims, the laws regarding unlawful restraint are strictly enforced by Texas law enforcement and prosecutors frequently seek severe punishment. If you have been charged with unlawful restraint, it is important that you contact an experienced violent crimes defense lawyer.

Houston Unlawful Restraint Attorneys

If you have been charged with unlawful restraint in the Greater Houston area, including Katy, Cypress, Jersey Village, Bellaire, Spring, Humble, Pasadena, Channelview, Conroe, The Woodlands, Hempstead, Richmond, Sugar Land, Missouri City, Pearland, Angleton, Friendswood and Galveston, you can contact the law offices of James G. Sullivan and Associates at (281) 546-6428 for a free phone consultation and case evaluation. They are experienced criminal trial lawyers who will fight for your rights, freedom and future.

What is Unlawful Restraint in Texas?

According to §20.02 of the Texas Penal Code, a person can be charged with unlawful restraint if he or she intentionally or knowingly restrains another person without consent by using force, intimidation, or deception. However, unlawful restraint can be done by any means, including acquiescence of the victim, if:

  • the victim is a child less than 14 years of age or an incompetent person and the parent, guardian, or person or institution acting in loco parentis has not acquiesced in the movement or confinement; or
  • the victim is a child between 14 years of age or older and younger than 17 years of age, the victim is taken outside of the state and outside a 120-mile radius from the victim’s residence, and the parent, guardian, or person or institution acting in loco parentis has not acquiesced in the movement.

In addition, there are affirmative defenses which might be used by the defense to get the charges dismissed.

Punishment for Unlawful Restraint in Harris County

Unlawful restraint is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, however it can be enhanced to a State Jail Felony if the victim was a child less than 17 years of age.

It can also be enhanced to a Third Degree felony if the offender recklessly exposes the victim to a substantial risk of serious bodily injury, the offender knowingly restrains an on duty public servant, or the offender while in custody restrains any other person.

According to Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code, a person charged with unlawful restraint can receive any of the following punishment and consequences if they are convicted of the offense:

  • A person convicted of a Class A misdemeanor can be sentenced to up to a year in jail, and/or a fine of up to $4,000;
  • A person convicted of a State Jail felony can be sentenced between 180 days to 2 years in a state jail, and a fine of up to $10,000; and,
  • A person convicted of a Third Degree felony can be sentenced between 2 to 10 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.

Although the punishment for unlawful restraint is less severe than that of kidnapping, it is still a serious offense. Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who will provide effective and aggressive representation.

Unlawful Restraint Defense in Houston

If you have accused of unlawfully restraining someone in Harris County, Montgomery County, Fort Bend County, Waller County or Brazoria County, contact the law offices of James G. Sullivan and Associates. We are experienced defense lawyers in northwest Houston who will make every effort to help you receive the best outcome for your particular case.  Call (281) 546-6428 for a free phone consultation and case evaluation, the first step in providing you a strong defense.

Harris County Stalking Defense | Houston Criminal Attorneys

Tuesday, November 21st, 2017

Harris County Stalking Defense

Stalking is a serious felony offense. Stalking allegations in Houston can arise from different situations, such as from a failed relationship where one partner still wants to maintain contact with the other partner.  And, stalking charges are often filed based solely on the accusations of the alleged victim.

If a law enforcement officer in Texas has probable cause that an accused committed the offense, the officer has authority to immediately arrest that person without a warrant. Even if a proper investigation did not take place, an immediate arrest for stalking could still occur based on the accusations.

Stalking charges can result in serious punishment and consequences, including lengthy prison time and a large fine.  Such a conviction can also adversely impact your future, such as by losing many educational, employment, housing and public assistance opportunities. However, if you have been charged with a stalking offense, it is important to know that you do not necessarily have to face a criminal conviction.

It is important to hire an experienced Houston criminal defense lawyer because criminal charges for stalking do not have to result in a conviction and the resulting lifelong consequences. In order to convict you, the state prosecutor must prove to a jury that you committed every element of the felony offense beyond a reasonable doubt.  With an experienced trial lawyer defending you, this is a very difficult burden to meet, and any reasonable doubt in the mind of any of the members of the jury can result in a not guilty verdict or a hung jury.  Therefore, it is vital to contact an experienced criminal attorney in Houston who will fight for you.

If you have been charged with the criminal offense of stalking in Harris county or any of the surrounding counties in Texas, contact James G. Sullivan and Associates for a free phone consultation at 281-546-6428.  Attorney James (Jim) Sullivan is an experienced trial lawyer who will fight for your rights, freedom and future.

Stalking in Houston

According to section 42.072 of the Texas Penal Code, a person can be charged with stalking if the person, on more than one occasion and in the same course of conduct that is directed specifically at another person, knowingly engages in conduct that:

  • the person knows or reasonably should know will be regarded as threatening bodily injury or death to the alleged victim, a family member or household member of the alleged victim, or another person the alleged victim is dating;
  • the person knows or reasonably should know will be regarded as threatening damage to the alleged victim’s property;
  • causes the alleged victim, a family member or household member, or person they are dating to be fearful of death, serious bodily injury or property damage;
  • would cause a reasonable person to fear bodily injury or death to themselves, a family or household member, or person they are dating; and/or
  • would cause a reasonable person to fear their property will be damaged.

Punishment for Stalking in Houston

Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code lists the felony punishment for stalking in Houston.

A first stalking offense is charged as a third degree felony.  A conviction for such a felony is punishable by a prison sentence ranging from two to 10 years and a fine up to $10,000.

A second stalking offense is charged as a second degree felony. A conviction for such a felony is punishable by a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years and a fine up to $10,000.

In addition to the punishment described above, a person that has been convicted of a stalking offense may suffer any of the following penalties and consequences:

  • A criminal record;
  • Unable to apply for certain jobs, professions or occupations;
  • Unable to be admitted into certain educational programs;
  • Ineligible to own or possess a gun or firearm;
  • Ineligible to receive certain kinds of governmental assistance;
  • Ineligible to vote or hold public office;
  • Loss of certain professional licenses; and/or
  • Public humiliation and embarrassment.

James G. Sullivan and Associates | Harris County Stalking Lawyer

James Sullivan graduated from the Trial Lawyers College founded by legendary lawyer Gerry Spence and was invited to join The National Trial Lawyers organization. Sullivan has a proven record of defending people from all walks of life, faiths and countries in courts throughout Texas.

Contact James Sullivan & Associates for a free phone consultation at 281-546-6428 about your stalking charges in Harris County (Houston)Montgomery County (Conroe)Fort Bend County (Richmond), Brazoria County (Angleton), Galveston County (Galveston), Matagorda County (Bay City), Waller County (Hempstead), Washington County (Brenham), Liberty County (Liberty), Chambers County (Anahuac), Jefferson County (Beaumont) and throughout Texas.

Harris County Improper Teacher-Student Relationship Criminal Attorney

Monday, October 2nd, 2017

Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student

The Texas Penal Code statute of Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student was recently changed. As of Sept. 1, 2017, it is now a felony for any employee of any school district to have sex with any student, regardless of whether they are in the same district–even if the student is 18 years of age or older. This statute also prohibits online solicitation of a minor between any employee of any school district with any student, regardless of the age of that student.

In this modern age of electronic communication and social media, students have far more access to teachers and school district employees than even before. As a result, online communications between educators and students are often misunderstood or misconstrued by concerned parents or even other students. This misunderstanding can lead to complaints and investigations into alleged improper relationship when there was no actual misconduct.

Harris County Lawyer for Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student

Are you a teacher in southeast Texas who was arrested or is under investigation for allegedly having a sexual relationship with a student? You should have legal representation before speaking to the authorities. Contact the law offices of James G. Sullivan and Associates for a free consultation.

James Sullivan is an experienced criminal defense attorney in Houston who represent clients accused of sex crimes in Houston, Spring, Cypress, Katy, Pasadena, Conroe, The Woodlands, Hempstead, Waller, Richmond, Sugar Land, Pearland and Angleton. Call (281) 546-6428 for a thorough and honest evaluation of your case.

What is the law of Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student?

According to Texas Penal Code § 21.12(a), an employee of a public or private primary or secondary school commits this crime if the employee:

  • Engages in sexual contact, sexual intercourse, or deviate sexual intercourse with a person who is enrolled in a public or private primary or secondary school;
  • holds a position described by Section 21.003(a) or (b), Education Code, regardless of whether the employee holds the appropriate certificate, permit, license, or credential for the position, and engages in sexual contact, sexual intercourse, or deviate sexual intercourse with a person the employee knows is:
    1. enrolled in a public primary or secondary school; or
    2. a student participant in an educational activity that is sponsored by a school district or a public or private primary or secondary school, if students enrolled in a public or private primary or secondary school are the primary participants in the activity; or
  • Engages in online solicitation of a minor with a person the employee knows is a student enrolled in a public primary or secondary school, or a student participant in an educational activity that is sponsored by a school district or a public or private primary or secondary school, if students enrolled in a public or private primary or secondary school are the primary participants in the activity and the employee provides education services to those participants, regardless of the age of that student.

Texas Penal Code § 21.01 provides the following definitions relating to this statute:

“Deviate sexual intercourse” means any contact between any part of the genitals of one person and the mouth or anus of another person; or, the penetration of the genitals or the anus of another person with an object.

“Sexual contact” means any touching of the anus, breast, or any part of the genitals of another person with intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person.

“Sexual intercourse” means any penetration of the female sex organ by the male sex organ.

Are there any Affirmative Defenses to this crime?

Yes. According to Texas Penal Code § 21.12(b-1), it is an affirmative defense to prosecution for improper relationship between educator and student if the employee:

  • was the spouse of the enrolled student at the time of the offense; or
  • was not more than three years older than the enrolled student and, at the time of the offense, the employee and the enrolled student were in a relationship that began before the employee was hired by the public or private primary or secondary school.

Punishment for Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student in Houston

Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student is a felony of the second degree punishable by a prison sentence ranging from 2 to 20 years and a fine of up to $10,000.

Defending Improper Relationship Between Educator and Student cases

It is certainly true that some accusations of impropriety are exaggerated or completely false. An experienced criminal defense attorney should always look for inconsistencies in an alleged victim’s statements, biases or motives of an alleged victim or other evidentiary flaws that could result in criminal charges being minimized or dismissed.

Where can I learn more about these cases in Texas?

The Austin American-Statesman did a recent article about the rising number of these types of crimes. The journalists requested and received from the Texas Education Agency (TEA) the names of teachers who surrendered their teaching licenses or whose licenses were revoked after being investigated by the TEA for engaging in an improper relationship with a student. According to the TEA data, from January 2010 through December 2016, 686 teachers in Texas permanently lost their teaching licenses following allegations of impropriety with a student. 308 of these teachers, about half, were charged with a crime. The most common charge was the felony of improper relationship between educator and student.

In the one-year period that ended Sept. 1, 2017, the Texas Education Agency opened 302 cases against public teachers who have been accused of having improper relationships with students, a 36 percent increase from 2016.

James G. Sullivan and Associates | Houston Improper Teacher Student Relationship Defense Lawyer

If you are teacher in southeast Texas who is under investigation or has already been arrested for an alleged improper relationship with a student, it is extremely important to retain legal counsel. The defense attorneys at James G. Sullivan and Associates defend individuals all over the greater Houston area, including Harris County, Montgomery County, Fort Bend County, Brazoria County, Galveston County and Waller County.

Harris County criminal defense attorney James Sullivan will work to help you receive the most favorable outcome to your case. Call (281) 546-6428 for a  free confidential consultation to review your case and discuss your legal options.

First Time Offenders

Sunday, May 7th, 2017

Harris County First Time Offenders

Your first time being arrested can be a scary experience. Whether you were arrested because of a misunderstanding or because of an impulsive act, the entire process is stressful, rushed and confusing. Since law enforcement in Texas is well known for cracking down on crime, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer to defend you.

If you been arrested and charged with your first offense in Harris County, Montgomery County, Fort Bend County, Waller County, Brazoria County or any of the surrounding areas, you should not go to court alone. Call an experienced Houston criminal defense attorney who will protect your legal rights and use your first time circumstances to mitigate the possible consequences in your case.

Houston First Time Arrest Lawyer

The lawyers at James G. Sullivan and Associates have thousands of case successes, and they review each case on a personalized, result-oriented basis to determine the best approach for you. They will work hard to achieve a favorable result for you.

Call James G. Sullivan and Associates at (281) 546-6428 for a free phone consultation for your first time offender case in Houston, Hempstead, The Woodlands, Conroe, Cypress, Spring, Humble, Katy, Channelview, Pasadena, Sugar Land, Richmond, Pearland, Angleton, or the surrounding areas today.

Common First Time Offenses in Houston

Harris County has a large, multicultural population spread over a vast area. There are many different first time offenses for which people are frequently arrested. Whether you reside in the Greater Houston area or are visiting from the surrounding counties of Montgomery, Fort Bend, Waller or Brazoria, these are a few of the many first time offenses–

Texas prosecutors take all of these crimes very seriously, however Harris County has several different programs available to first time offenders. An experienced Houston criminal attorney can guide you through the defense process, apply the best legal defense or suggest the appropriate program for your case.

Options for First Time Offenders in Harris County

Since prosecutors and judges focus on putting dangerous criminals behind bars, an experienced Houston criminal defense lawyer can use your lack of a prior record and any other mitigating facts to persuade for leniency. There are various possible options available for first time offenders, including–

  • Apply for Pre-Trial Diversion with the prosecution with or without the filing of criminal charges.
  • Programs, Services and Specialty Courts – these are designed to provide education, counseling and other services instead of or along with community supervision (probation) and jail time. Your defense lawyer can negotiate with the prosecutor on securing these options.
  • Fight the case at a jury trial or a suppression hearing if the facts and law support a good defense.
  • Plea bargaining – if all other options fail, a dedicated criminal defense attorney can usually use your status as a first offender and improbability to become a repeat offender to make a case for deferred adjudication or probation in exchange for a plea of guilty or no contest.

Once you complete the terms of your negotiated deal, you may be eligible to have your record expunged or sealed (non-disclosed to the public). This process is usually not automatic, so consult your attorney about the specific method for your case.

Harris County Specialized Diversion and Intervention Programs

As a first time offender and depending on the facts of your case, you may be eligible for the following specific diversion and intervention programs—

Misdemeanor

DWI Pre-Trial Intervention Program – if you are a first time offender charged with a Class B DWI or BWI, you may be eligible for this 12-month voluntary supervision program available through the Harris County District Attorney’s Office. If you successfully complete the program, your DWI case will be dismissed, you will avoid paying DPS surcharges and you can apply for an expunction 2 years after dismissal.

Retail Theft Pre-Trial Intervention Program – if you are a first time shoplifter (retail theft offender), this 90-day program offers the opportunity to get your case dismissed. If you are accepted, you will be required to pay a $130 fee, take an anti-theft class and stay out of trouble during those three months. If successful, you can then seek an expunction of your criminal case.

Misdemeanor Marijuana Diversion Program (MMDP) – this is a pre-charge diversion program offered by the Harris County District Attorney’s Office to offenders who would otherwise be arrested and charged with possession of misdemeanor marijuana, regardless of criminal history. If eligible and accepted into the program, you must pay a $150 program fee and complete a 4-hour “Cognitive Decision Making” class within 90 days. If successful, your record will remain clear of any arrest or charge for the offense.

Prostitution Prevention Program – this program, known as called SAFE Court (Survivors Acquiring Freedom and Empowerment), targets young adults age 17-25 who are first time offenders, although some repeat prostitution offenders in that age group will also be eligible. Their goal is to provide these young people life skills needed to transition out of the prostitution lifestyle and to become a contributing member of society.

Misdemeanor Veterans’ Court – this specialty court program provides veterans who are honorably discharged from their military service, with treatment, and intense court supervision in lieu of a conviction and jail time. Defendants who qualify for the program are provided treatment and counseling for 6 months or more. Upon successful completion of the program, participants will be eligible for an expunction of their Class B or A misdemeanor offense.

Felony

Felony Mental Health Court (FMHC) – this is a voluntary specialty court program. If an offender meets the program requirements and is accepted, he receive pre-trial intervention, deferred adjudication or probation. He must be willing to undergo a clinical evaluation and agree to follow an individualized Re-Entry Plan. Individualized incentives and sanctions are applied in order to encourage following the Re-Entry Plan and to modify behavior leading to potential criminal activity. He must complete at least 18 months in the court; the judge will consider early termination of probation as allowed by law.

Harris County Veterans’ Court (HCVC) – this voluntary specialty court program aims to habilitate veterans and active service members that suffer from homelessness, mental illness, mental disorders, traumatic brain injury, and/or substance use disorder due to military service, which was a contributing factor in their felony criminal offense. The program accepts first time felony offenders and/or veterans who have served in combat or under hazardous conditions. The program excludes any offenders with a current charge or previous conviction for a violent crime (other than aggravated assault), sexual assault or delivery of a controlled substance. Those admitted to the court will receive pre-trial intervention, deferred adjudication or community supervision, and it will take a minimum of 18 months to complete the program followed by a 6 month aftercare phase.

STAR Drug Court Program – The STAR (Success Through Addiction Recovery) program treats non-violent, repeat drug offenders and consists of a three-phase intensive, highly structured treatment program, followed by a 12-month aftercare program. During all phases, participants attend 12-step programs or an approved alternative, participate in group and individual treatment and counseling programs, submit to frequent random drug testing and appear frequently before their judge. Graduates have their cases disposed of on a case-by-case basis by the STAR program judges.

James G. Sullivan and Associates | Harris County First Time Offender Lawyer

Even if you are a first time offender, Texas punishment is harsh on offenders. The good news is that in Harris County and many other counties you have several options available.

If you are charged with a first time criminal offense in the Greater Houston area including Harris County, Montgomery County, Fort Bend County, Waller County, Brazoria County or any of the surrounding areas, call James G. Sullivan and Associates today at (281) 546-6428.

Criminal Trespass

Monday, April 3rd, 2017

Houston Criminal Trespass Lawyers

Criminal Trespass is a property crime that is frequently committed in Texas. The potential consequences to offenders can be much greater than what they realize as most people wrongly assume that the crime is not that serious. In fact, if convicted of Criminal Trespass to a Habitation, an individual can face up to one year in jail and be ordered to pay up to $4,000 in fines. These penalties, along with having a criminal record, can be devastating and it is important to hire an experienced Houston property crimes lawyer to defend you against these allegations.

To have a realistic chance of getting your criminal charges dismissed, being found not guilty at trial or even avoiding a conviction through pretrial diversion or deferred adjudication, it is important to hire an experienced Houston property crimes lawyer to fight for you against these allegations.

Harris County Criminal Trespass Defense Attorney

The defense attorneys at James G. Sullivan & Associates are passionate about defending cases like yours and have over 45 years of criminal defense trial experience. If you have been charged with Criminal Trespass in the Greater Houston area, contact our office today at 281-546-6428 for a free phone consultation.

Criminal Trespass in Houston

According to Texas Penal Code § 30.05, an individual commits criminal trespass if the person enters or remains on another person’s property without the consent of the owner, and had notice or did not leave after being given notice that the entry was forbidden.

Criminal trespass commonly occurs on residential and agricultural land, and in recreational vehicles, buildings, aircrafts, vehicles or habitations.

Under Texas law, “notice” means any oral or written communication by the owner of the property or someone with apparent authority to act for the owner. Proper notice can include but is not limited to fencing or other enclosure that is clearly designed to keep people out or livestock within, a sign posted on the property or at the entrance to a building that can be reasonably seen by intruders, and the presence of agriculture that is being cultivated or harvested.

In Texas, criminal trespassing is usually a Class B misdemeanor, however the charges can either be upgraded or reduced under certain circumstances. If the trespass occurred on agricultural land within 100 feet of its boundary or on residential land within 100 feet of a protected freshwater area, it can be reduced to a Class C misdemeanor.

Criminal trespass can be upgraded to a Class A misdemeanor if it is committed in a habitation, shelter center, critical infrastructure facility, or if the defendant was in possession of a deadly weapon during the commission of the trespass.

Penalties for Criminal Trespass in Harris County

  • Class C misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to $500.
  • Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to 180 days in jail, and/or a fine up to $2,000.
  • Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail, and/or a fine up to $4,000.

Take your Criminal Trespass Charge Seriously

Individuals often taken criminal trespass charges lightly, however that is a mistake because the possible penalties are very serious. If you are charged with criminal trespass in the counties of Harris, Montgomery, Fort Bend, Waller, Brazoria, Liberty or Galveston, protect your rights by retaining the experienced Houston criminal defense lawyers at James G. Sullivan & Associates.

James (Jim) Sullivan is an experienced Houston criminal defense attorney. Since 1994, Sullivan has successfully fought the government in jury trials on behalf of clients in criminal and juvenile courts. Sullivan has also been able to get hundreds of serious criminal and juvenile cases dismissed or reduced from a felony to a misdemeanor.

Board Certified in Juvenile Law

Harris County Juvenile Lawyer James Sullivan is Board Certified in Juvenile Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Juvenile law is different than criminal law. Note: Among the more than 83,000 active lawyers in Texas, there are only 38 lawyers Board Certified in Juvenile Law in private practice.

James Sullivan graduated from Gerry Spence’s Trial Lawyers College, the most selective and prestigious trial advocacy program in America. Sullivan has a proven record of defending people from all walks of life, faiths and countries in courts throughout Texas.

Contact James Sullivan & Associates for a free initial phone consultation at 281-546-6428 about your theft charges in Harris County (Houston), Montgomery County (Conroe), Fort Bend County (Richmond), Brazoria County (Angleton), Galveston County (Galveston), Matagorda County (Bay City), Waller County (Hempstead), Washington County (Brenham), Liberty County (Liberty), Chambers County (Anahuac), Jefferson County (Beaumont) and throughout Texas.

Criminal Mischief

Monday, April 3rd, 2017

Houston Criminal Mischief Lawyer

Defense Attorney representation in Harris County, Texas for over 20 years

If you are charged with any type of criminal mischief, you need to know and understand the potential crimes you are facing.

In Houston, criminal mischief offenses are generally defined as intentionally damaging another person’s property. Types of damage are commonly referred to as destruction, alteration and defacement. Minor actions associated with criminal mischief often include vandalism or graffiti, and more serious actions include the destruction of the property.

Criminal Mischief Houston

According to Tex. Penal Code § 28.03, the following conduct can result in being charged with criminal mischief in Harris County:

  • Intentionally or knowingly damaging or destroying another person’s tangible property;
  • Intentionally or knowingly tampering with the tangible property of another person and causing financial loss or substantial inconvenience to him or a third person;
  • Intentionally or knowingly making markings, including inscriptions, slogans, drawings, or paintings, on the tangible property of another person.

Penalties for Criminal Mischief

Depending on the value of the destruction or property damage, you could face misdemeanor or felony offense punishment. Section 12 of the Texas Penal Code defines the applicable penalties you may face with a criminal mischief offense:

  • Class C Misdemeanor – A fine of up to $500 can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to less than $100, or causes substantial inconvenience to another being.
  • Class B Misdemeanor – A fine of up to $2,000 and/or a jail sentence of up to 180 days can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to less than $750 but at least $100 or more.
  • Class A Misdemeanor – A fine of up to $4,000 and/or a jail sentence of up to one year can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to less than $2,500 but at least $750, or your criminal mischief offense causes impairment or disruption of any public water supply.
  • State Jail Felony – A fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail sentence ranging from 180 days to two years can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to less than $30,000 but at least $2,500 or more; less than $2,500 if a home was damaged through the use of an explosion weapon or firearm; less than $2,500 if a fence used to hold livestock, game animals, or poultry was destroyed or damaged; or less than $30,000 if your criminal mischief offense caused the impairment or disruption of public communications, gas power supply, transportation or any other public service.
  • Third Degree Felony – A fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail sentence from two to ten years can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to less than $150,000 but at least $30,000.
  • Second Degree Felony – A fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail sentence from two to twenty years can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to less than $300,000 but at least $150,000 or more.
  • First Degree Felony – A fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail sentence from five to 99 years or life imprisonment can be charged to you if the financial loss amounts to $300,000 or more.

Criminal Mischief Defense and Representation

Criminal mischief might not seem like a major crime, but the fact that the damages could put peoples’ lives in jeopardy and disrupt public and private property this makes criminal mischief a much more serious offense, especially as the value of damage increases.

Therefore criminal mischief charges should not be taken lightly and it is important to have an experienced and aggressive Houston criminal attorney working with you to build the best possible defense for your case.

Contact Attorney James Sullivan

If you or a loved one is facing a criminal mischief offense, contact Attorney James (Jim) Sullivan today at 281-546-6428 for a free phone consultation.

James Sullivan is an experienced Houston Criminal Defense Attorney. For over 20 years, Sullivan has successfully fought the government in Jury Trials on behalf of clients in criminal and juvenile courts.

Board Certified in Juvenile Law

Harris County Juvenile Lawyer James Sullivan is Board Certified in Juvenile Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Juvenile law is different than criminal law. Note: Among the more than 83,000 active lawyers in Texas, there are only 38 lawyers Board Certified in Juvenile Law in private practice.

James Sullivan graduated from the Trial Lawyers College founded by legendary lawyer Gerry Spence. Sullivan has a proven record of defending people from all walks of life, faiths and countries in courts throughout Texas.

Contact James Sullivan & Associates for a free initial phone consultation at 281-546-6428 about your theft charges in Harris County (Houston), Montgomery County (Conroe), Fort Bend County (Richmond), Brazoria County (Angleton), Galveston County (Galveston), Matagorda County (Bay City), Waller County (Hempstead), Washington County (Brenham), Liberty County (Liberty), Chambers County (Anahuac), Jefferson County (Beaumont) and throughout Texas.

Anatomy of a Win – a Juvenile Deadly Conduct Case in Harris County

Sunday, July 31st, 2016

James Sullivan graduated from Gerry Spence’s Trial Lawyers College, the most selective and prestigious trial advocacy program in America. Sullivan is board certified in juvenile law and has a proven record of defending children in courts throughout southeast Texas.  In this post, Sullivan describes a recent jury trial win in Harris County juvenile court–

On July 11, I tried a felony deadly conduct case to a jury in juvenile court. My 15 year old client was falsely charged and it was blatant. I was hired in late May to replace the court-appointed attorney. Within a two week period of time, I had 3 separate detention hearings before 3 separate judges, and they all refused to release my client from detention. I was outraged at the system that kept an innocent child locked up on a false charge while the actual adult perpetrator got off easy with only 3 days in jail for a misdemeanor. So, on June 21, immediately after that third denial, I asked for a speedy jury trial and was able to secure a trial date within 3 weeks.  In Harris County, this was probably the fastest juvenile case ever to get to a jury trial–only 7 weeks from the date of arrest.

There was also a surveillance video that recorded the actual shooting. It seemed clear that my client was not the shooter, but the prosecutor turned a blind eye to the obvious and chose to “believe” three biased witnesses, including the investigating officer, who claimed that they “positively identified” my client from the video as the shooter. The actual shooter was a 21 year old man who had befriended and badly influenced my client. That man was drunk and shot a stop sign twice with his .40 caliber handgun and there was an occupied house across the street behind it. That man was actually arrested that night with unlawfully carrying a weapon and only spent 3 days in jail. The only issue at trial was: who shot the stop sign?

The day after the shooting a homeowner discovered that his security camera actually captured the incident, and two other neighbors (who were on the board of the HOA) lied and claimed that it was my client on the video who did the shooting. I believe they were angry that my client was not also arrested the night before. When the police arrested my client that next night, he happened to be wearing the same colored clothing as in the video, but it was still obvious based on the body size, hair style and other characteristics that my client was not the shooter. My client is 5’5″ and 130 lbs and the shooter is 5’7″ and 160 lbs.

I told the prosecutor to dismiss the case on June 21 after viewing the videotape. By then my client had already spent over 4 weeks in juvenile detention. After he refused to dismiss it, I set it for a jury trial.

The week before trial I spent several days in that neighborhood meeting with and interviewing witnesses to what really happened that night and who could also identify the two parties.  In addition to those 8 witnesses, I also filed a subpoena for the officer who arrested the actual shooter that night. Based on the video alone, I fully expected the prosecutor to dismiss the case the morning of trial. The prosecutor might have chosen to “believe” the unbelievable, but I thought he was smart enough to realize that a jury of 12 rational people would not be so easily duped. Apparently, he thought otherwise, so I got to have a great day getting justice for my client.

During cross-examination, I was able to get the arresting police officer to concede that he could not describe the shooter’s face, clothing type nor even the shooter’s race or ethnicity from a photo I made from the video.  Another  State’s witness (the president of the HOA), as soon as he took the witness stand, actually revealed his prejudice for all to see by calling my client a “peckerwood”.  During cross-examination, I got him to even identify my client as the non-shooter in the video!

Through cross-examination of his witnesses, I showed how blatantly false his witness’ accusations were. The prosecutor actually subpoenaed the actual shooter to trial but did not call him as a witness.  After the prosecutor rested his case, I then put on my 9 witnesses to tell the real story of what happened that night. I also called the shooter to the stand and among other things he admitted that he had a gun that night, pleaded guilty to the carrying a weapon charge and only spent 3 days in jail.

Right after the not guilty verdict was announced, both prosecutors hurried straight out of the courtroom.

Based on the descriptions of the two males above, you can look at the image and judge for yourself.

My client’s mother wrote a kind review on Avvo

In late May of 2016 my 15 year old son was arrested and taken to the juvenile detention center for a felony crime he did not commit, Deadly Conduct. After being falsely accused and wrongfully admitted to the Harris County Juvenile Detention Center, I met with and hired Mr. Sullivan. He walked us through the process and helped my family and son better understand what needed to be done. The day of the detention hearing in court, we had all of the proof and evidence to help get my son out of detention. The judge of the court was completely unjust. After refusing to consider the video evidence that proved my son’s innocence or to even hear from my family members who were willing to supervise my son at all times if released, the judge quickly ruled to keep my innocent son detained. Mr. Sullivan was furious at the system that caused my son to be arrested and held for a crime he did not commit while at the same time the adult who actually committed the crime was only charged with a misdemeanor and spent just a few days in jail. Mr. Sullivan immediately requested a trial by jury. We were able to get a trial setting in the next 3 weeks, which was amazing considering the fact that most cases take 3-6 months or longer to get to a trial. Mr. Sullivan explained that court-appointed attorneys such as the one first appointed to my son’s case never take cases to a jury trial, but instead only have bench trials where the judges make the final decision. If the court-appointed attorney had stayed on the case, my son would still be in detention and I believe he would probably have been found guilty by the judge. Instead, thanks to Mr. Sullivan my son was found innocent by a unanimous vote from the jury. Mr. Sullivan stopped at nothing to help our son and prove him innocent. My son walked out of detention 7 weeks later with no record. Mr. Sullivan’s knowledge of the criminal and juvenile justice systems helped in so many ways. Mr. Sullivan was not pushy, arrogant, or air-headed like most attorneys. Instead, he kept a down-to-earth low-profile, encouraged my son as if he were his own and won our case successfully and peacefully. Thank you so much Mr. Sullivan for helping my family and my son!

Houston Texas Juvenile Sex Crimes Defense Attorney

Friday, June 3rd, 2016

Juvenile Sex Offender Treatment, Polygraph Testing and an Undiagnosed Mental Health Issue: An Unusual Case Study of “Thinking Outside the Box”

In 2015, I was hired to represent a 16 year old boy who was charged with a serious felony sex offense involving a young child in Montgomery County and who lived in a nearby county.  As I do with all my juvenile clients, I spent a great deal of time getting to know my client, the accusation against him and the family dynamics.  The teenager was honest about what happened, he and his parents did not want to contest the charge at trial and they all agreed that sex offender therapy was appropriate and necessary.

After much negotiation, the prosecutor offered a regular indeterminate probation so long as my client first successfully completed a sex offender treatment program (SOTP).  This meant that my client could get his juvenile record sealed at age 19 and would not have to register as a sex offender.  If my client was unsuccessful with the SOTP, then he would receive a determinate sentence which meant he could be on probation or sent to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department (formehttp://juveniledefenselaw.com/2013/11/14/houston-juvenile-sex-crimes-defense-lawyer-james-sullivan/rly TYC) for a number of years with transfer to adult prison, could never get his records sealed and would probably have to register as a sex offender until age 28.  The difference in possible outcomes was huge.  I was skeptical of the deal because I knew that polygraph testing at best is only about 85 percent accurate, but it was also the only way the prosecutor would offer my client a path to receive an indeterminate probation, and ultimately it was my client’s decision.  My client and his parents agreed to accept the prosecutor’s offer.

The first part of the SOTG consisted of writing down a complete sexual history, revealing all sexual conduct with all people that the teenager had had up to that point in his life.  The polygraph testing (i.e. lie-detector test) was then used to confirm whether or not he was being honest about revealing his complete history.  After being tested, the forensic polygraph examiner (FP) claimed that my client’s examination indicated deception, that he was not being honest.  A later examination resulted in an inconclusive result, and the FP claimed that my client was deliberately trying to thwart the process by taking deep breaths prior to answering the important questions.  I retained a private FP to administer the test and the result also came back inconclusive.  I was very concerned for my client because I and his family both believed that their son was being truthful.

The consequence for not successfully completing his SOTP would be catastrophic to his future.  By now, the prosecutor wanted to schedule a court hearing to have my client adjudicated with a determinate sentence.

I questioned my client’s father about whether his son had ever been diagnosed with a mental health issue.  He then told me that seven years earlier his son had been diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder (GAD), but that he had not taken medication for it for several years.  I knew that GAD could affect polygraph testing.  According to Dr. James Allan Matte in his book Forensic Psychophysiology Using the Polygraph,

“the continued state of heightened anxiety in individuals with GAD results in chronic arousal of the autonomic nervous system… The FP must be cautious when interpreting such profiles due to this chronic arousal which cannot be directly attributed to the FP’s questioning but rather is a reflection of general nervous tension”.

I also suspected that my client’s mental health issue was deeper and more complex.  I knew that individuals with Asperger’s Syndrome, now considered part of the Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), are often first misdiagnosed with a variety of illnesses, including GAD, bipolar disorder, etc.  In fact, autism impacts the autonomic nervous system the same way as GAD and as a result it adversely impacts and skews the results of polygraph testing.  With either illness, it is impossible for a polygraph examiner to prove that a failed test is the result of actual deception rather than the illness itself.

Based on my client’s body language, lack of eye contact and mental health history and also that his father was an engineer, I suspected my client might have Asperger’s.  I suggested that he take an online test to see if he might fall within the range.  The test indicated that he probably did have Asperger’s.  I recommended that he undergo a formal evaluation by a trained psychologist.  The process took two weeks, and the psychologist confirmed my suspicion that my client did in fact have Asperger’s and also agreed that the illness adversely affected polygraph testing.

I furnished the results of the psychological evaluation to the prosecutor and to the probation department.  I requested that polygraph testing be waived in my client’s SOTP and that he be placed on an indeterminate probation in his home county.  It took some time to persuade the prosecutor to do the right thing.  Initially, he argued that autism did not affect polygraph testing and then made the incredulous claim that there were in fact many juveniles with autism in his county’s SOTP that were passing polygraphs.  Next, he argued that he never would have made the offer in the first place had he known my client had autism.  I told him that would be discrimination against the disabled.  I had already consulted with a civil rights attorney that was prepared to file a federal lawsuit against the county government if the prosecutor persisted in his course of action to have my client adjudicated for a determinate sentence.

Finally, ten months after I was hired and three months after my client was diagnosed with Asperger’s, the prosecutor relented and agreed to an indeterminate probation until age 18, defer the decision regarding sex offender registration, SOTP without polygraph testing and to transfer the probation to my client’s home county.

My client’s SOTP counselor confirms that he is doing well in his treatment program.  My client now understands himself better and can seek out professional help in learning to deal with some of the cognitive deficits of Asperger’s.

TBLS-Logo-tag-RI was blessed to have been able to use my unique knowledge and understanding of juvenile law and psychology to save a client from a painful and uncertain future.  I am also certified in juvenile law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. I doubt if any other juvenile attorney could have obtained the same result.

Firearm / Weapon Offenses

Wednesday, March 30th, 2016

Firearm / Weapon Offenses

Individuals who are charged with a firearm or weapon offense in Houston frequently commit this criminal offense unknowingly.  Under Texas law, almost anyone can possess a firearm in an enclosed location in their vehicle or in their home.  However, an individual can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense if he carries his handgun in an unlawful place or is prohibited from carrying a weapon because he is a convicted felon.

The possible penalties for committing a gun or weapon crime in Houston are serious, including a permanent criminal record, high fines, inability to possess or own a firearm in the future and/or jail or prison time.

If you are charged with a firearm or weapon offense in Houston, it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights, freedom and future.  The prosecutor has the burden to prove each element of the charges against you beyond a reasonable doubt.   This means if the jury has a reasonable doubt in their mind, the jury should find you not guilty.

Houston Weapon Offenses Lawyer

If you are accused of committing a firearm or weapon offense in Harris County, or any of the surrounding counties in Texas, including Montgomery, Fort Bend, Waller, Liberty or Brazoria, call the Law Office of James G. Sullivan & Associates for a free consultation at 281-546-6428 about your firearm or weapon charges.  Sullivan knows the law and will make every effort to achieve a dismissal, a not guilty or a reduction in the charges against you.

Firearm and Weapon Examples

Section 46.01 of the Texas Penal Code lists the weapons, guns and firearms that may be prohibited and/or could result in a criminal offense:

    A knife,

    Armor-piercing ammunition,

    Blackjacks,

    Bowie knives,

    Chemical dispensing devices,

    Clubs,

    Daggers,

    Explosive weapons,

    Firearm silencers,

    Handguns,

    Illegal knives,

    Knuckles,

    Mace,

    Machine guns,

    Nightsticks,

    Short-barrel firearms,

    Spears,

    Switchblade knives,

    Swords,

    Tomahawks, and/or

    Zip gun.

Firearm and Weapon Offenses

Under Texas law, an individual who is charged with any of the following criminal weapon offenses could face severe penalties and consequences:

According to Texas Penal Code§ 46.02(a), an individual can be charged with unlawfully carrying a weapon if he intentionally, knowingly or recklessly carries a weapon on his body when not on his property or inside his vehicle.  This offense can be charged as a Class A misdemeanor or a felony of the third degree.

According to Tex. Penal Code § 46.02(a-1), an individual can be charged with unlawfully carrying a firearm if he intentionally, knowingly or recklessly carries a handgun on his person or in his vehicle:

    that is in plain view,

    when he is engaging in criminal activity,

    when he is prohibited from having a firearm in his possession, or

    if he is a member of a criminal street gang.

This charge can result in a conviction of a Class A misdemeanor or of a felony of the third degree.

According to Tex. Penal Code § 46.02, an individual can be charged with unlawful possession of a firearm if he possesses a firearm and:

    has been convicted of a felony and possesses the firearm before he has been released from confinement for five years;

    has been convicted of domestic assault and possesses the firearm before he has been released from confinement or community supervision for five years; or

    he is an employee of the State and possesses the firearm before the expiration of a protective or restraining order against him.

This offense is punishable as Class A misdemeanor or felony of the third degree.

An individual can also be charged with a weapons offense if he possesses a weapon during the commission of a serious criminal offense.  Commonly referred to as aggravated offenses, these offenses can include, but are not limited to, the following:

    Aggravated Assault,

    Aggravated Kidnapping,

    Aggravated Robbery, and/or

    Aggravated Sexual Assault.

Additionally, an individual who knowingly carries a weapon in a prohibited public place can be charged with a criminal offense.  These places can include, but are not limited to, the following:

    Schools,

    Polling places on election day,

    Racetracks,

    Courthouses, and/or

    Airports.

Texas Concealed Weapon Carry Laws

According to Chapter 411 Subchapter H of the Texas Government Code, individuals in Texas who have applied for and met the requirements for a license to carry a concealed handgun are permitted to carry a handgun in a public place that does not sell alcohol.

In order to meet these requirements, an individual must not have a felony conviction, must be in compliance with all state and federal laws and meet other listed criteria.

An individual may be disqualified from receiving a concealed handgun license if he:

    Has any currently pending criminal charges,

    Has any alcohol, drug, chemical or substance dependency,

    Has been diagnosed with certain types of psychological disorders,

    Has defaulted on state or city taxes, governmental fees or child support, and/or

    Has a protective or restraining order against him in place.

Firearm and Weapon Penalties

Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code lists the basic statutory penalties for firearm, weapon and gun crimes in Texas.  However, these penalties can increase depending on a variety of factors, including the type of offense the person allegedly committed, where the offense allegedly occurred, whether the alleged offense involved a minor, whether the person is considered a violent offender and whether the alleged offender has any criminal history.

    A conviction for a Class B misdemeanor weapons offense can result in a jail sentence up to 180 days and/or a fine up to $2,000.

    A conviction for a Class A misdemeanor weapons offense can result in a jail sentence up to one year and/or a fine up to $4,000.

    A conviction for a state jail felony weapons offense can result in a state jail sentence ranging from 180 days to two years and/or a fine up to $10,000.

    A conviction for a felony of the third degree weapons offense can result in a prison sentence ranging from two to ten years and/or a fine up to $10,000.

    A conviction for a felony of the second degree weapons offense can result in a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years and/or a fine up to $10,000.

    A conviction for a felony of the first degree weapons offense can result in a prison sentence ranging from five to 99 years or life imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000.

Firearm and Weapon Resources in Houston

Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) – Concealed Handgun Licensing Program – The Texas DPS website provides general information on concealed handguns in Texas, how to apply for a concealed handgun in the state, answers to frequently asked firearm and gun questions, and Texas laws regarding firearm and weapon laws.

National Rifle Association (NRA) – The NRA is a national organization that promotes the Second Amendment right to bear arms in the United States and encourages responsible firearm education for every citizen.

Texas Concealed Handgun Association (TCHA) – This Texas organization supports every responsible and law-abiding citizen in Texas to lawfully keep, own and carry firearms, in addition to seeking to improve handgun laws in Texas, promoting responsible firearm safety and use, and encouraging high standards for firearm instruction and safety.

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) – Houston Field Division – The ATF Houston Field Division is responsible for criminal enforcement and industry regulatory activities throughout north Texas.  The ATF is a national agency focused on reducing violent crime, including arson and explosive-related crime throughout the U.S.  The Houston Field Division is located at:

ATF Houston Field Division

5825 N. Sam Houston Pkwy, Suite 300
Houston, Texas 77086

Tel.: (281) 716-8200

The Law Offices of James G. Sullivan & Associates | Harris County Firearm Crime Lawyer

If you are accused of committing a firearm or weapon offense in Harris County, or any of the surrounding counties in Texas, including Montgomery, Fort Bend, Waller, Liberty or Brazoria, call the Law Office of James G. Sullivan & Associates for a free consultation at 281-546-6428 about your firearm or weapon charges.  Sullivan knows the law and will make every effort to achieve the best outcome for your situation.