Client Reviews

JUVENILE CASES

In late May of 2016 my 15 year old son was arrested and taken to the juvenile detention center for a felony crime he did not commit, Deadly Conduct. After being falsely accused and wrongfully admitted to the Harris County Juvenile Detention Center, I met with and hired Mr. Sullivan. He walked us through the process and helped my family and son better understand what needed to be done. The day of the detention hearing in court, we had all of the proof and evidence to help get my son out of detention. The judge of the court was completely unjust. After refusing to consider the video evidence that proved my innocent or to even hear from my family members who were willing to supervise my son at all times if released, the judge quickly ruled to keep my innocent son detained.  Mr. Sullivan was furious at the system that caused my son to be arrested and held for a crime he did not commit while at the same time the adult who actually committed the crime was only charged with a misdemeanor and spent just a few days in jail. Mr. Sullivan immediately requested a trial by jury.

We were able to get a trial setting in the next 3 weeks, which was amazing considering the fact that most cases take 3-6 months or longer to get to a trial. Mr. Sullivan explained that court-appointed attorneys such as the one first appointed to my son’s case never take cases to a jury trial, but instead only have bench trials where the judges make the final decision. If the court-appointed attorney had stayed on the case, my son would still be in detention and I believe he would probably have been found guilty by the judge. Instead, thanks to Mr. Sullivan my son was found innocent by a unanimous vote from the jury. Mr. Sullivan stopped at nothing to help our son and prove him innocent.

My son walked out of detention just 7 weeks after his arrest with no record. Mr. Sullivan’s knowledge of the criminal and juvenile justice systems helped in so many ways. Mr. Sullivan was not pushy, arrogant, or air-headed like most attorneys. Instead, he kept a down-to-earth low-profile, encouraged my son as if he were his own and won our case successfully and peacefully. Thank you so much Mr. Sullivan for helping my family and my son!

~Marilyn Martinez (Google Review)

Hi Jim, I was on the jury panel for the defendant on March 19 & 20, 2013 in the 314th [Juvenile District] Court.  My congratulations on winning the case [an Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Child].  I believe justice was served.  The harsh treatment you received from the court was NOT a factor in deciding the case but it WAS noticed and mentioned during deliberations by all the jury members.  Glad to see you took the higher ground.  Your closing statement was very well prepared and was helpful in our decision making process. Best of Luck, it was an honor to be there.

~JurorHouston, Texas (an e-mail from a juror in a 1st degree felony sex crime case in which the State sought a determinate sentence)

Aguirre’s court-appointed attorney, Jim Sullivan, an idealistic young lawyer married to a court translator, recalls that the chief prosecutor told him he was crazy to take the case to trial. He predicted a speedy conviction. It didn’t turn out that way.

At the trial two weeks ago a jury in Judge Kent Ellis‘s juvenile court listened as Wilson broke down in tears on the witness stand. They quickly found Aguirre innocent. Afterward, several irate jurors asked Sullivan who they could contact to get perjury and fraud charges filed against the teacher.

In his closing argument, Sullivan contended that the case was about not an assault, but an insurance scam. “And the only guilty person in this case is Ms. Wilson, and she is scamming us taxpayers out of our hard-earned money.”

To Sullivan, the case is about a teacher violating her professional integrity and trying to criminalize a student to justify a highly questionable disability claim.

~An excerpt from a Houston Press article dated April 27, 2000 (when Sullivan was still handling court-appointed cases. His client was charged with a felony assault against his teacher)

Our initial ordeal with the juvenile justice system was devastating. Our trust that justice would prevail and our belief that our first attorney [who is now a juvenile court judge] had our interests first and foremost were destroyed. So when we again had to approach the court, we were at a loss as to which attorney to choose. Mr. Sullivan’s website indicated that he was more knowledgeable than most and had a passion and understanding about the need for justice for our children. He looked at my son as a whole person and not just a case number. His quick responses, direct communication and follow-ups helped to reassure us. He did not let us down. If we had had a competent, decent, ethical attorney a few years ago, we would have had a different outcome even then. We will never forget what Mr. Sullivan did for us and words cannot express our heartfelt gratitude. If you need an attorney for your daughter or son, I would highly recommend Mr. Jim Sullivan.  If your child needs a lawyer, Jim is definitely your guy!

~T.W., Houston, Texas

As an attorney myself, when concerns arose over an incident involving my son, I knew the extreme importance of finding an attorney who is Board Certified in juvenile law. Board Certified lawyers are highly specialized – enough that the State recognizes them for their expertise. My search led me to Jim Sullivan and I cannot thank him enough. He is extremely well-versed in this highly specialized area of law, kind, compassionate and non-judgmental. He spent a great deal of time understanding the incident involving my son and providing us guidance. Thankfully, it appears that this will turn out to only be a “learning opportunity” for my son but, I have Jim’s number in my phone and will call him immediately if the need arises.

~ Judith H. (12/17/2011) (Yahoo Review)

Jim Sullivan helped our son and family through a very difficult time.  On a Friday evening in February 2012, our son was handcuffed and taken from our home for detainment at the Juvenile facility (Fort Bend County) on a class 3 Felony charge of stalking. We were informed that we would not be able to see him until visiting hours Monday.  Our lives had been turned upside down and our son’s support system (his family) had been ripped out from under him.

My husband, who is lawyer, immediately began researching Houston area juvenile attorneys.  Based on Jim’s profile and qualifications, my husband called him late Friday evening.  Jim answered the phone and arranged to meet us at the Juvenile Detention Facility early Saturday afternoon.

Jim connected with our son immediately. It was apparent he cared about him as a whole person, not just the kid who suddenly found himself in trouble.  He was more than just a lawyer to my son. He shared his own experiences and his positive attitude about life and relationships.  Jim is not only a good lawyer but a good role model for our children.

The Felony charge did not stick and we are thankful for Jim’s help and counsel.

~Anonymous from Fort Bend County (06/07/2012) (Avvo Review)

When I needed a lawyer to defend my teenage son who was charged with a felony sex offense, it was a stroke of luck that Jim Sullivan answered his phone when I called.  My husband and I were frantic, worried and confused, but Jim answered our questions and we were especially reassured to know that not only did he have many years of experience with similar cases but that he was also Board Certified in Juvenile Law.  Like many families who understandably go through a harrowing ordeal when their teenagers face serious criminal charges, Jim’s dedicated and competent representation gave us a good comfort level and eased our fears.  He always treated us courteously and professionally.  Because Jim is intelligent, open-minded and competitive, he has proved to be a great lawyer who represented my son to the best of his ability and negotiated a deal with the prosecutor to reduce the felony charge to a misdemeanor assault–an extraordinary result for my son.  In two years, my son can get his juvenile record expunged and then apply for admission to a top university.

Jim Sullivan is a genuinely good man who really cares about the case result and how it will affect his clients’ future life, so he aims to secure decisions in their best interests and for that we are truly grateful.

~Concerned Mom in Fort Bend County (06/06/2013) (Avvo Review)

Professional, personable, reliable. This lawyer takes care of you. He helps children and parents in their time of need. He explains thoroughly the situation and makes sure you completely understand what is going on before moving forward. He will fight for your freedom. I hope I never have any more problems but if I do I will call Jim Sullivan he is the best in my eyes.

~Anonymous (11/25/2011) (Yahoo Directory Review)

Jim Sullivan is truly an excellent attorney. He went the extra mile for my son.  One afternoon while I was at work, I received a phone call from Deer Park Police Department.  My son had been picked up from school in Huntsville, Texas and charged with Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Child.  I became frantic and terrified to death.  I knew an offense like this would ruin my child’s life and not only that, but it was going to be hard to fight and he was already being treated as if he was guilty.  Later he was turned over to Juvenile Detention with no intention of release.  I spoke with several attorneys and they could only offer a plea bargain, saying “that he is guilty and would have to report as a sex offender until he was 28.”  My son was 15 years old at the time.  They did not give me much faith in going to trial.  This meant my son is guilty and that he was going to do some time.  I continued to search for an attorney and then I found Jim Sullivan. I called him and he agreed to meet at my convenience. I told him about my son’s situation and he said he believed that he could help. He suggested taking the case to trial. He gathered all the information he needed from me and then he went to work.  First he got my son released from Juvenile Detention and back into my custody.  Then he hired a private investigator and continued working on my son’s case.  One afternoon, about a month before trial, I received a call from Jim stating that my son’s case had been dismissed.  I cannot explain the relief my heart felt when I got this news, but I can say that I thank God for Jim Sullivan.  He gave my son’s life back.  Jim put time, patience and dedication into my child’s case. For this I am truly grateful.

~Percilla L., Huntsville, Texas

Jim Sullivan is truly a man who goes above and beyond for his clients, the majority of which are children. These kids can’t properly speak for themselves in a court of law, but Jim can and does.  This man’s dedication to these children is phenomenal!  He is committed to giving these kids a chance to start fresh.

Our son was almost 13 years old when we called on Jim in mid-2008, and he had been charged with a serious felony offense (aggravated sexual assault of a child).  It was a Sunday when we made the call.  Jim answered the phone and urged us to come in that evening.  He sat with us for three and a half hours listening to and coming to understand our story.  He was our second attorney.  The first had misrepresented himself as a juvenile defense attorney and was unable to get our son released from juvenile detention.  It was terrifying to have to start over in the middle of chaos, but Jim calmed the air so quickly and helped us move forward.

Jim took our son’s case that Sunday evening and changed our boy’s life.  Jim got our son back in our custody immediately.  He connected with our son and gained his trust, something the previous attorney had no time to do.  Jim always remembered he was our son’s attorney, not ours, and he treated our son with respect even though he had managed to land himself in a situation undeserving of it.  Jim spent time preparing our son for what was happening now and what could be expected in the future.  He was always prompt in returning phone calls; that is if I had to leave a message at all.  I was usually able to reach him right away even in the evening when I did not expect to.

Jim knew that we had just paid our previous attorney in full and that we were financially in a bind.  He didn’t make us feel unimportant while we gathered the funds he would need to defend our son.  He always treated us as if we had paid in full the minute we walked through his door.  This man is not about money!  I truly believe that he does all that he can to provide his services at a minimal cost.

Jim also knew that our son was from a home of divorce and that he would have to do double time on correspondence between father and mother.  He did so with the utmost patience and respect to both sides.  Jim kept the peace when it wasn’t his responsibility.  Remember, Jim is the child’s attorney and not the parents.  However, he took the time to help us come together on some very important issues.  Just know that my son was grateful at the peace that was created.

My son is now moving on with his life in the custody of his parents and not the state of Texas, because a man named Jim Sullivan believes he has a duty to children and he wakes up to the call of that duty every day and meets it with the utmost integrity.

~Tammie P., Houston, Texas (02/02/2014) (Avvo Review)

I am thankful that my son and I had Jim Sullivan for our attorney. It is so rare to find a personable lawyer who will fight for your child’s justice.  I am happy he was my son’s attorney; if you ever need an awesome lawyer who actually cares about his clients look for Jim Sullivan. I always keep his card just in case someone I know needs an honest hard working talented lawyer for adults and children. Jim Sullivan will take care of you and your loved ones. 

~T.L.M., Houston, Texas

Jim Sullivan recently represented my 14 year old son – he had been charged with indecency with a child; a felony sex crime.  The state doesn’t take these cases lightly and was seeking to have my son on felony probation for 2 to 3 years.  He could have been ordered to register as a sex offender and could not got his records sealed until age 19.  Instead, Jim suggested that my son go ahead and complete the juvenile sex offender treatment program first and then he would work with to persuade the DA to dismiss the case entirely.  After a year of counseling, my son successfully completed the program, yet the DA still wanted my son to be on 2 full years of probation.  Our family had already been through enough and couldn’t imagine enduring anything else.  However, Jim ultimately was able to persuade the DA to dismiss it.  Of all of the outcomes that it could have resulted in, obviously a dismissal is what I had prayed for but honestly didn’t expect.  I was shocked and grateful.  Our family can finally begin the healing process and move on.  Thank you Jim!

~Theo Hall (Google Review)

___________________

Additional client reviews regarding Attorney James Sullivan can be found at Avvo, Google and Yahoo.

Avvo Reviews (85 and counting)

Google Reviews (23 and counting)

Yahoo Reviews (19 and counting)

___________________

 

CRIMINAL CASES  

Jim Sullivan is a lawyer that cares.  He is willing to put himself and his career on the line for justice and he works hard for what is right. Last year, he represented me in a case in which I was wrongly charged with Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon (a very serious felony).  Jim Sullivan was able to prove in trial to a jury that I acted in self-defense.  Jim spent several months and countless hours on my case. Most lawyers never go to trial. Even though the State offered me deferred adjudication probation, Mr. Sullivan advised me not to take it and to insist on a jury trial.  During trial, the State was clearly frustrated by Mr. Sullivan’s skillful ability in cross-examining the State’s witnesses and portraying what the case was really about–that I had the right to use a gun to defend myself against what I reasonably believed to be two men trying to rob me in a dark parking lot outside a club.  By the close of evidence, the State felt so bad about their case that they strongly argued that the jury should have the right to find me guilty of a misdemeanor assault, but it didn’t matter.  The jury reached the right verdict and found me not guilty.  The false accusations were then expunged and my record was once again clean.  My family and I were very fortunate and blessed to have such a good attorney on our side and we now consider him a good friend.  I served in the military for 10 years, including a combat tour in Iraq.  To fellow Veterans: Jim is a true patriot and definitely the attorney you want serving beside you.

~Jeremy P., Houston, TX

I cannot thank you enough for your help with my case in Montgomery County. It was a very serious accusation against me.  My teenage nephew falsely accused me of molesting him.  You took our initial call on a weekend and assured us then that everything would turn out fine. You explained that it was very important for a good attorney to get involved before indictment because you believed a good defense attorney could get the case no billed by the grand jury.  And, that’s exactly what you did.  You are very talented and professional at what you do. I cannot thank you enough for standing beside me, believing in me and and most importantly, your confidence. You are truly a super lawyer.

~K.M., Conroe, TX (11/11/2012) (Avvo Review)

My husband Richard Longtine was involved in an unfortunate and violent altercation in the home while our four year old daughter was nearby. Richard’s brother is a drug addict, was high on synthetic drugs, flipped out over something petty, pulled out a knife and then lunged towards Richard’s face. Richard threw his arms up to block the thrust and got stabbed in his right arm. My husband then scrambled to his bedroom to get his gun. His brother followed quickly after him with the knife in his hand. When his brother kept advancing on him and refused to drop the knife, my husband had to shoot him to survive. His brother was released from the hospital the same day, but the lack of a proper police investigation and the lies told by a witness caused my husband to be charged immediately after the shooting with “Aggravated Assault on a Family Member”! My husband was arrested and taken downtown to jail, he had never had any trouble with the law prior to this situation. I called around to several attorneys who seemed very “gung ho” on getting paid and some even charged just to talk. I found Jim Sullivan on the Avvo website where he has superb reviews. Speaking on the phone with Jim I was instantly ready for a face to face, we headed to his office the same day. Jim is very knowledgeable in this field and comforting. He breaks down what legal terminology you do not understand and explains it in layman’s terms. This situation would be scary for anyone, especially people who have never dealt with anything like this before, and some of the attorneys I spoke with were very crude (one even immediately called our judge a foul word and said we were screwed ) and hard to understand when it came to explaining our situation. Jim explained that he believed that he could get the case no billed (dismissed) by the grand jury so that my husband could get the charges expunged from his record. Within a few weeks of meeting him, Jim put together a compelling defense packet for the grand jury. My husband was arrested on September 27, 2014 and his case was NO BILLED by the grand jury on December 5, 2014. Thanks Jim for all of your help and kindness. It really helped the best it could in a situation like this!

~Destiny, Houston, TX (01/09/2015) (Avvo Review)

Being arrested for the first time, I wasn’t sure who to turn to for help. Long story short, I did something that I shouldn’t have, spanked me daughter with an umbrella. I was under a lot of stress and it didn’t help that her behavior was drastically changing for the worst. The next day I was questioned by the police. I waived my rights and told the police of the incident. Consequently, I was charged with a felony, Injury to a child.

I was new to Houston and I had no family or close friends. Not knowing any better I hired the worst attorney in Houston, J. Carrol. It was the worst experience EVER. The first meeting went well. He said that he had worked with the prosecutor, he knew the judge personally and that he has dealt with similar cases recently. I paid him the full retainer fee. I felt that I was in good hands until we spoke the next day. His tone, demeanor and attitude had changed. I believe his intentions were to have me indicted then charge me thousands of dollars to attempt to get me probation. He didn’t even consider presenting the case to the Grand Jury. I felt frustrated, hopeless and stuck.  

After speaking to my husband we decided to hire another lawyer. After doing hours of research we agreed to speak to attorney Jim Sullivan, and boy we are glad we did! He was very knowledgeable, straightforward and caring. He offers free consultations and his charges are reasonable. Our first 2 conversations lasted about 30-45 mins. I explained everything that happened in detail, he helped me understand the law and spoke about his previous cases. I felt a sense of relief when we ended our conversations. Unlike the previous attorney we had hired, Mr. Sullivan knew what he was doing. Mr. Sullivan told us that we would need to prepare a Grand Jury packet, he explained the process and told me exactly what he needed. Two weeks after submitting the packet to the Grand Jury, my case was dismissed!!!!!!!

There are MANY things that I liked about Mr. Sullivan; he’s the person who picks up when you call (not a receptionist), he is flexible, he accepts payments plans, he is honest, he responds to calls/text within hours, he listens without interrupting, he works outside regular business hours (weekends, after 6p), he treats you like you are his priority and he is very caring. The only thing that I didn’t like about this experience was the fact that I didn’t find him sooner. I would definitely recommend Mr. Sullivan to family and friends.

~Abbie, Houston, TX (12/19/2016) (Avvo Review)

I hired Jim Sullivan for my daughter’s felony evading arrest and theft case. I could not be any happier with my decision. He is an amazing attorney and a very compassionate and understanding human being. Both of my daughter’s cases were dismissed! I would highly recommend Jim Sullivan to anyone needing a criminal defense attorney.

~Tracie Hinson, Tomball, TX (05/29/2012) (Yahoo review)

I was so blessed to have met James Sullivan. His values, ethics and professionalism made us win the case for one of my Contractors. As recommended by him, the case was impeccably argued before the Grand Jury and it was no billed. Given his track record, I have now taken the liberty of calling him “The King of NO-BILLED” Thank you so much for your help. God Bless you!

~K. Ache, Houston TX (10/16/2012) (Avvo Review)

I want to thank Attorney Jim Sullivan for helping me with my case. I had a probation violation on an Assault Family Violence case in Criminal District Court which resulted in jail time. Mr. Sullivan represented me and, even though my probation officer recommended revocation, he managed to get the Motion to Adjudicate Guilt dismissed on the first setting and I was released from jail later that night.

The terms of my probation included that I not have contact with my wife until completion of my BIPP counseling sessions which were for 18 weeks. My probation officer claimed that I violated my probation by returning to my house and that was false. Mr. Sullivan interviewed my mother and my wife about what really happened and then proved to the prosecutors and the probation department representative that I did not break the rules and that I should be released back to probation so that I could keep my job to provide for my children. 

He thoroughly prepared for the first court setting and I am very grateful for him for going above and beyond in helping my case and would recommend him to anyone who needs not only an experienced criminal defense attorney but also an attorney who treats you like a real friend. So, with that being said, thank you Jim Sullivan for an outstanding job.

~Kelvin, Houston, TX (10/04/2012) (Avvo Review) 

As an attorney, Jim Sullivan is low profile, down to earth, insightful, and most importantly, effective. I had met with other attorneys that presented a tough and flashy image and claimed to be the best in town, but I chose Jim because I trusted his integrity, capability and sincerity to do his best in representing me in the criminal case [Theft] that was charged against me. I was proven to have made a sound judgment – Jim had my case totally dismissed without a trial setting, two months after the charge was made against me. From what I have observed, Jim does not just apply a standard formula to a case and then proceed in the legal system’s “production line.” Instead, he thinks outside the box and he catches details that are critical to properly define the nature of an event and he goes on to breakthrough a seemingly impossible situation. Jim is a very good attorney, a good man and a true blessing.

~Anonymous (03/12/2012) (Yahoo Review)

Jim Sullivan is a great lawyer. He saved me from a lifetime of sex offender registration.  Before I hired him, another lawyer told me I might get probation but I’d still have to register. My life would’ve been over if that happened. I couldn’t get a job. I couldn’t support my family. Only Mr. Sullivan had the confidence that he could beat my case.

I had met this girl on Facebook. The girl said she was 18 and had a child of her own. I was 24. We dated during the summer and then she said I got her pregnant. When her mama found out, she called the police. That’s when I learned that the girl was only 16 at the time. I got charged with Sexual Assault of a Child and was looking at doing 2 to 20 years in prison. 

The lawyer I first spoke to said I committed statutory rape and that there was no defense. He wanted to charge a large fee just to try and get me probation. I then spoke with Mr. Sullivan. He assured me that I had a good chance of getting the case no billed or dismissed by the grand jury and then getting my arrest records expunged. At first I didn’t know what he was talking about it because I had never heard of a grand jury before, so he explained it to me how he was going to do it. Mr. Sullivan told me he had gotten other sex cases dismissed the same way. He also charged less than the other lawyers.

I am so glad that I found Mr. Sullivan. He did what he said he was going to do. Within 3 months of being charged, he got my case no billed by the grand jury. I cannot thank him enough for what he did for me.  He really saved my life.  I recommend him to anyone who needs a criminal lawyer. In my mind, he is the best. 

–Will O., Houston

We hired Attorney Jim Sullivan to represent our 39 year old son who was charged with Aggravated Assault Family Violence in Harris County [Houston]. Our son suffers from schizoaffective disorder. He was not on his medication when he got into an argument with his wife and seriously injured her with a knife [stabbed her in the arm and back]. Attorney Jim Sullivan was the second attorney to represent our son in this difficult case where the prosecution only offered prison time. Sullivan believed that our son’s only hope for probation was to ask the Judge to decide punishment in a PSI hearing. The complainant insisted on testifying during the hearing. Sullivan skillfully cross-examined her and got her to admit that she cheated on our son during their relationship, got pregnant by another man and led our son to believe that the child was his. Soon after the birth, our son learned through DNA testing that he was not the biological father, however he still chose to raise the child, love him and treat him like his own son. After hearing all of the evidence, the Judge gave our son deferred adjudication so that he could get on with his life. We are very grateful for what Attorney Jim Sullivan did for our family. 

~N.T., Houston, Texas (02/27/2012) (Yahoo Review)

If anyone could say dealing with an attorney is a pleasure, we would be the first ones in line to speak up.  If one could compare doctors and attorneys, in that each of us needs a family physician, then I state attorney Jim Sullivan would be our family attorney.  As parents we found ourselves lost and not knowing where to turn when our son was in trouble having faced issues our youth of today face on a regular basis. Mr. Sullivan put us at ease right away. He has represented our son twice in the past 4 years, the first being a charge of felony possession which he had reduced to a misdemeanor and this last time a BMV with an early dismissal from probation and the court ordering the defendant’s guilty plea withdrawn.  In other words with no guilty plea the court ordered the verdict set aside and the indictment dismissed.  Mr. Sullivan has proven to be a man of integrity, honesty and true concern for his clients.  I hope we never have to use our family attorney again, but we give him a 5 STAR rating for anyone needing an attorney with the highest credentials.  Thank you Mr. Sullivan.

~G.S and D.S., Katy, Texas

Jim Sullivan saved my life.  I had never been in trouble before.  I am a single mom with three kids.  A neighbor’s boy, an 11 year old bully, beat up my 9 year old son.  My 10 year old son then went outside and gave the bully a black eye.  The bully ran home and told his momma that I had hit him.  His momma came over and attacked me.  The next day that woman called the police and I got arrested for a felony, Injury to a Child.  I spent 2 weeks in jail for something I didn’t do before my momma got enough money together to pay the bondsman.  Before Jim Sullivan defended me, I was afraid. I thought the best I could get was probation.  I just don’t trust the law.  I’ve seen too many people go to trial, lose and get a lot of prison time.  But Jim believed in me.  When we first went to court, Jim told me the government was offering me deferred adjudication on the felony, but he said that I shouldn’t take it.  Jim told me he would fight my case all the way to trial and that there was no way he was gonna let me plead guilty when I was innocent.  Over the next few months, he worked on my case.  He came to my neighborhood and spent many hours talking to witnesses.  On my first trial setting, Jim told me that the government was now offering me a better deal–deferred adjudication on a misdemeanor assault, but Jim told me that I should not take it because I was not guilty of that either.  He was sure he would win my case at trial and I believed him. Over 6 months, we went to court 10 different times. Finally, on my third trial setting, the government dismissed my case!  I thank God that Jim was my attorney.  He truly cared about me and my family.  I cannot thank him enough.  Because of him, I still have a clean record and I can still work to support my kids.

~Demonisha, Houston, Texas (06/16/2012) (Avvo Review)

My daughter Ja’Shandrah Dixon was falsely accused of Aggravated Assault on a family member back in May 2015. Terence Batiste, her baby’s daddy, has a history of family violence against her, abuses drugs and has mental problems. In fact, my daughter had sought a protective order against this man just a few weeks before this and the DA’s office refused to grant it.

On this day in May, Terence threw his bicycle in front of her moving vehicle with their young son and a family friend inside to force her to come to a screeching halt. He then cursed at her. The family friend was scared for her life and told her to drive on. To get away from him, she drove over his bicycle. Terence then lied to the police, saying she was trying to kill him. Witnesses said they heard her break but did not see her run over him. The sheriff’s deputy did not take statements from the passengers in the car. Instead, they arrested her and she was held in jail on a high bond.

I called many attorneys but could not afford them. I finally came across Attorney James Sullivan and told him about the arrest of my daughter. He told me what he charges to take on a case like this and was willing to work with me by way of a payment plan.

Attorney Sullivan was a Godsend from the very beginning. His personality was that of someone you’ve known all your life which made me comfortable in working with him. He immediately got her bond cut in half so I could bond her out. Afterwards, we all met with Attorney Sullivan. The three of us went over the case, and he told us he wanted to fight her case at the Grand Jury and that it would be much quicker and less expensive than fighting it at a jury trial. He explained the difference between having the case dismissed by the State and having it no billed by the Grand Jury.

After two months, Attorney James Sullivan called me and told me the Grand Jury no billed the case and that she could get her record expunged. I highly recommend Attorney James Sullivan.

Many thanks Attorney James Sullivan

Freda D., Houston, TX (08/04/2015) (Avvo Review)

Jim Sullivan is a good lawyer and a good person. My son got arrested for drug possession at age 18 at his high school in Collin County Texas (near Dallas). I thought his future education plans were over, but Jim Sullivan worked hard to persuade the prosecutor to reduce the case to a class C misdemeanor and allow my son a 90 day deferred adjudication. He successfully completed the probation and his case was dismissed. Most importantly, after Jim Sullivan counseled my son for several hours over several days, my son finally saw the light and gave up his daily weed smoking habit. While his former friends now have criminal records for drug use, my son changed his life for the better, graduated from high school and is working full time for a good company.

~W.H.S., Collin County, TX (12/09/2011) (Yahoo Review)

Jim is an amazing lawyer he defended my 16 yr son in 2012 who was charged with Aggravated Assault with a Deadly weapon. He was very knowledgeable, caring, and trustworthy. His christian back ground and the way that he would talk to my son and make him feel comfortable was amazing, He was able to get all charges dropped due to self defense. My son was able to go on with his life graduate high school and now attending college. I will recommend Jim I carry his card with me at all times.
Thanks JIM

~Tawnya, Tomball, TX (08/22/2014) (Avvo Review)

Jim Sullivan is a person of trust and integrity and most of all honest.  During a horrible time in my life, I was charged with a felony for insurance fraud.  Needless to say, I had a spotless record, never been in trouble with the law.  During some unfortunate circumstances, I ended up in court and had no idea on what was going to happen to me next.  By the grace of God I found Jim Sullivan, an angel that walks the earth. I was scared to death; he walked me through the legal process with dignity and integrity.  Not knowing anything about the system, he explained every detail and never left my side.  With his professionalism and trust, I was able to get through this horrible nightmare.  I thank God for Jim every day.  He impacted my life so much.  I was not able to do it without him.

~Donna H., Houston, TX

It was late on a Saturday afternoon when I found myself caught up in a very serious legal situation [2º felony Theft].  I was terrified and didn’t know where to turn.  I made a few calls and ended up speaking with Jim Sullivan.  He had me come into his office that same day and spent several hours speaking with me and getting the background on my situation.  Mr. Sullivan was never judgmental or condescending.  He listened to my story and believed in me.

Mr. Sullivan saw me through what was by far the worst time of my life.  He represented me very well and his expertise as well as his belief in me helped me to realize a reasonable ending to my ordeal.  I would recommend Jim Sullivan without any reservation.

~B.B., Houston, TX

Jim Sullivan helped me every step of the way to get my record clean.  He is a very dedicated professional that truly listens to you and provides a way out when you are involved in a criminal situation.  I made a very foolish mistake of shoplifting and thought that I could never get my reputation back.  However, he made sure to make every effort possible to get me out of this trouble.  I thank God that I found him because without him I would have remained a criminal in the eyes of the public.  Jim Sullivan is a man of trust, hard work and dedication.  There is no doubt about that.  I would highly recommend him to anyone needing a criminal lawyer.

~Denisse P., Houston, TX

I recommend Jim Sullivan to anyone who needs brilliant legal representation. In a legal jungle, Jim is a lion.  Never intimidated, Jim courageously defended my rights and freedoms and we won. My cases [Indecency with a Child] were difficult and complicated, but Jim handled everything with cool, calm competence. I was facing up to 20 years of incarceration for false accusations, so the stakes were high. Jim came through for me. [Both felony cases in Montgomery county were dismissed on the second trial setting]

~T.P., Houston, TX

The good Lord was looking out for my son when he was assigned Jim Sullivan as his attorney. An attorney who truly cares about the future of his clients well-being, long term. Mr. Sullivan did not see my son as a SPN number. He sees him as a human being who God has placed in his path for a reason. Thank you so much for all of your efforts!

~Betty B., Houston TX (12/07/2011) (Yahoo Review)

We recently hired Mr. Sullivan’s legal services on behalf of my 18 yr old son who was involved in a car accident involving injury [Failure to Stop and Render Aid]. I was impressed with Mr. Sullivan’s professionalism and understanding as well as his knowledge of laws. He listened to our case and wanted to help. He was very thorough, clear and quick to respond in his explanations while defending our case to the DA and Judge.  We are very pleased with the results and outcome and I would highly recommend using Mr. Sullivan services.

~J. Garcia, Houston, TX (12/16/2011) (Yahoo Review)

We certainly would use Mr. Sullivan again if the need arises. He was swift in calling us back, meeting with us on a Sunday, and making the necessary arrangements in court. We were able to get the pre-trial diversion situation handled promptly.

~Cynthia P., Houston, TX (12/13/2011) (Yahoo Review)

Jim Sullivan is an extremely good attorney. He actually cares about your case and wants the best for you just as much as you do. He is reliable and very professional. I am so glad to have found such a good attorney like him. I would recommend him to any teenager or even an adult. He knows what he is doing and he makes the atmosphere a little more relaxing. I have never gotten in trouble with the law until this past year and he has not only helped me with my court case, but he has given me a good word of encouragement and I am very confident that my case will be settled the exact way that I am hoping for.

~Madison (12/13/2011), Houston, TX (Yahoo Review)

Mr. Sullivan demonstrated the up-most character and effort in working my case. He is a man of his words and has great passion for what he does. This lawyer is not like the ordinary. Full of wisdom, advice, character, and integrity, Mr. James Sullivan delivers exceptional legal services. He comes with no judgment or generalizations and every message and contact is completely personalized and satisfactory. He was very patience in all explanations and would ensure that I was completely aware of the situation and all possible outcomes. I would highly recommend him in any case, for he is determined to help the people. It was a blessing to my family and I to have you by our side, and Thank you again James Sullivan. You are the man.

~ Mohamad Allahalih (05/24/2016) (Yahoo Review)

______________

Serving Houston, Galveston, Angleton, Pearland, Alvin, Sugar Land, Bellville, Clear Lake, Conroe, Pasadena, La Porte, Missouri City, Texas City, Friendswood, Richmond, Rosenberg, Corpus Christi, Brownsville, San Antonio, Laredo, El Paso, El Campo, Austin County, San Marcos, Dallas, Denton, Plano, Lubbock, Midland, Anahuac, Beaumont, Hempstead, Huntsville, Liberty, The Woodlands, Humble, Tomball, League City, Bellaire, Deer Park, Katy, La Grange and other communities in Austin County, Brazoria County, Chambers County, Colorado County, Fayette County, Fort Bend County, Galveston County, Harris County, Jefferson County, Liberty County, Montgomery County, Waller County, Walker County and Wharton County.